RSS

Writer’s block

19 Oct
Writer’s block

Well it happened. You never want to think it’ll happen to you but then it does and you are blindsided. I am experiencing writer’s block. I have so many little ideas, bits of funny on which to base a blog but then I sit down to write or I walk around my house cleaning (which is when I sometimes get some good ideas) and the ideas don’t gel into something that I feel is blog worthy. Perhaps it is the change in the weather, the damp and dreariness of the days. Days when I come home with wet socks because I took Yadi for a walk wearing my crocs because I was too lazy to tie tennis shoes. Perhaps it is because I have not taken a day to just go and daydream. Overall I just feel blah. And nothing funny comes from blah.

Writer’s block is the scariest feeling for a writer. I’m always afraid I’m going to run out of funny things to write or like lately, I feel like my thoughts are not necessarily entertaining enough to share. It’s one of the  

Maybe I need to get out more. Get around people. But that’s really a double-edged sword for me because while I gain a lot of material for blogs from the idiocy of others, it also comes at a hefty price. I have to be around others. So this means going out in public and more than likely being annoyed by everyone around me.

My main annoyance comes from the fact that most people lack self-awareness. They trudge along through their little worlds unaware that they are just getting in my way. People walk around living in their heads. (I too, am guilty of this but with at least enough self-awareness that I’m doing it) Take for instance a trip to the grocery store. I turn my wobbly wheeled cart (because such is my life. I always get the wobbly wheeled cart. It’s my main reason for not just giving up and becoming homeless)  down the peanut butter aisle and I am suddenly stopped behind a woman who has decided to leave her cart in the middle of the aisle and read every label on every jar of peanut butter. I have to say excuse me four times before she looks up and realizes that she’s in the way. Am I the only one who realizes that a grocery aisle is just like a two lane road? You stay on your side, I stay on mine? How hard is that?

Another favorite is when I’m at the zoo or another crowded public venue and someone stops to look at an animal or a piece of art. They just stop where they are, as if moving out of everyone else’s way never crossed their mind. No consideration for anyone else. Just stop where you are and stand there gawking at the bears.

But my all time favorite encounter is when I’m driving down a side street and the car in front of me decides to stop to talk to someone on the sidewalk. Hello? I am behind you and I want to keep going. Pull over and talk to your friend. Don’t make me wait while you discuss where you’re going to meet later.

What do all of these experiences have in common? People get in my way. Which is why I hate going out in public. Which is why I don’t have anything to write about right now.

And yet by writing about not having anything to write about, I have written. Take that, writer’s block!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2011 in Random

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Writer’s block

  1. KickIt

    October 19, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Hello Jenn:
    Thanks for writing about this topic. I’ve hit the writer’s block wall once or twice. And then sometimes, I have so many different things to write about, I can’t decide which is blog-worthy enough, and I don’t write at all. Kick myself in the butt about that one probably too much. Thanks for sharing your perspective on being around people and being annoyed BY said people… we are all very different, and get inspired by different things don’t we? Best of luck to you in keeping your writer’s block at bay. ~Wendy

     
    • Jenn Murphy

      October 22, 2011 at 11:09 am

      Thanks Wendy! I’m still struggling with the block 😦 Hopefully something will inspire me soon!

       

Leave a comment

 
